Legal Resources

LEGAL RESOURCES

 The following organizations may provide useful to you or your organization.

Chicago Area

Center on Halsted, Legal Clinic and Referrals: centeronhalsted.org

Chicago Bar Association: chicagobar.org

Equality Illinois: equalityillinois.org

Howard Brown Health Center: howardbrown.org

Illinois State Bar Association: isba.org

Legal Assistance Foundation of Metropolitan Chicago: lafchicago.org

Legal Council for Health Justice: legalcouncil.org

LGBT Chamber of Commerce of Illinois: lgbtcc.com

Transgender Legal Defense and Education Fund (TLDEF), Name Change Project: tldef.org

National

AIDS United: aidsunited.org

American Bar Association: americanbar.org

American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU): aclu.org

ACLU, LGBT Rights: aclu.org

ACLU, HIV: aclu.org

ACLU of Illinois: aclu-il.org

Gay and Lesbian Advocates and Defenders (GLAD): glad.org

Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD): glaad.org

Gay, Lesbian, and Straight Education Network (GLSEN): glsen.org

Human Rights Campaign (HRC): hrc.org

Immigration Equality: immigrationequality.org

Lambda Legal Defense and Education Fund: lambdalegal.org

Log Cabin Republicans: logcabin.org

National Center for Lesbian Rights: nclrights.org

National Center for Transgender Equality: transequality.org

National Gay and Lesbian Task Force (NGLTF): thetaskforce.org

National LGBT Bar Association: lgbtbar.org

National LGBT Bar Association, Annual Conference (Lavender Law): lgbtbar.org

National Minority AIDS Council: nmac.org

Palm Center, Blueprints for Sound Public Policy: palmcenter.org

Transgender Law Center: transgenderlawcenter.org

International

International Association of LGBT Judges: ialgbtj.org

OutRight Action International: outrightinternational.org

Employment and Housing Discrimination

U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission: eeoc.gov

Illinois Department of Human Rights: illinois.gov

LGBT Military/Veteran Resources

American Veterans for Equal Rights: aver.us

OutServe Service Member’s Legal Defense Network (SLDN): outserve-sldn.org

Transgender American Veterans Association: transveteran.org

Judicial Candidate Evaluations

Vote for Judges: voteforjudges.org

Chicago Area LGBT Law Student Groups

DePaul University College of Law, Outlaws: law.depaul.edu

IIT/Chicago-Kent College of Law, Lambdas: kentlaw.iit.edu

John Marshall Law School, OUTLaw: jmls.edu

Loyola University of Chicago School of Law, OUTLaw: luc.edu/law

Northern Illinois University College of Law: niu.edu/law

Northwestern University School of Law, OUTLaw: law.northwestern.edu

Southern Illinois University, Legalss: law.siu.edu

University of Chicago Law School, OutLaw: law.uchicago.edu

University of Illinois College of Law, OUTLAW: law.illinois.edu

LGBT Law Student Resources

LGBT Student Scholarship Database: hrc.org

Law School Admission Council (LSAC), LGBT Law School Applicants: lsac.org

Press

The Advocate: advocate.com

Windy City Times: windycitytimes.com